What Happens If I Get a DUI in a Different State?
Being charged with a DUI is a stressful event no matter where it happens. If you’re arrested while you’re traveling out of state, you may face another set of potential problems. That’s why the criminal defense attorneys at Adras & Altig put together this short guide to answer some of the basic questions you might have.
What Happens If an Out-of-State Driver Gets a Las Vegas DUI?
Regardless of where you’re from, the basics of a Las Vegas DUI charge are the same as a DUI charge in most other states. If you’re found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.08 percent or higher, you can be automatically charged with DUI “per se,” which means you’re charged simply because the blood test results were above the legal limit. However, you can still be charged with DUI even if you’re below the legal limit if police have other evidence of you driving while intoxicated.
The potential penalties for a first-time DUI in Las Vegas include:
- A $400 – $1,000 fine
- Jail time ranging from two days to six months
- Community service
- Having to enroll in an alcohol treatment program
- Having your driver’s license revoked
- Having an alcohol ignition interlock device placed on your car
- A criminal conviction on your permanent record
Will DUIs Be Reported From State to State?
There’s a good chance that a DUI in Las Vegas or elsewhere in Nevada will be reported to your home state. Most states are part of a group called the Interstate Driver License Compact, and members of the compact exchange data on DUI charges and other vehicular crimes.
If your home state and Nevada have similar laws and penalties for DUI infractions, you will likely face similar penalties in your home state as you would in Nevada, including having your driver’s license taken away.
How to Deal with a Nevada DUI When You’re From Another State
The good news about out-of-state DUI infractions is that, in most cases, you do not have to be physically present for court hearings and other legal matters. For first-time and second-time DUI charges (as long as the DUI did not result in serious injury or death), a Nevada lawyer can represent you in court. That means you likely won’t have to return to Las Vegas, NV for court proceedings.
If you reach a plea agreement with Nevada prosecutors, you can generally take care of the details through the mail. The only time you would be required to be present would be if your case goes to trial.
How Our Las Vegas DUI Defense Lawyers Can Help
If you’re an out-of-state visitor who’s been charged with DUI in Las Vegas, we would strongly recommend you hire a local defense lawyer.
Here are some of the things our DUI attorneys can do for you:
- Investigate your case to see if there were any issues with how law enforcement obtained your blood or breath sample, which may result in your case being thrown out
- Examine the case against you to see if we can get the charges against you dropped for other reasons
- Work to get you released on bail if you’re in police custody
- Negotiate with prosecutors to get you a fair plea agreement
- Represent you in court, so you don’t have to travel back to Nevada
An out-of-state DUI charge is a serious matter, and it won’t go away if you ignore it after returning to your home state. If you’re visiting Las Vegas, NV and have been charged with drunk driving, contact our team right away.