How to Get a Gun Legally in Nevada
Vacationing in Nevada, moving there, or just planning ahead?
Travel with confidence. Learn about Nevada’s gun laws so you’ll know where you can and cannot buy, sell, and carry your firearm.
Gun laws vary from state to state and are overlaid by federal laws. They’re not for legal novices. They require experienced lawyers to interpret this sometimes conflicting legal morass.
At Adras & Altig, we understand that sometimes bad things happen to good people. If you’ve found yourself facing gun charges in Las Vegas or elsewhere in Nevada, call us or reach out online anytime. The initial consultation is free and always confidential.
Steps to Getting a Gun Legally in Nevada
Be prepared to wait. Gun sales and gun transfers require a dealer background check. Like many other states, Nevada is experiencing a backlog of background checks due to record volume related to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Follow these steps to buy a firearm in Nevada:
- Get a background check. You must be at least 18 years old to buy a firearm, and 21 for a handgun. Beyond that, there are broad categories of individuals who are prohibited from owning firearms. See more details in the section below.
- Assuming your background check was approved, purchase your gun at any Nevada dealer. As of January 2, 2020, a background check is also required to buy a gun privately from an individual.
- Present a valid photo ID issued by the state of Nevada.
- Background check not needed to buy ammunition.
- You don’t need a license to possess a gun nor do you have to register it.
- You don’t have to buy a gun right away. Each background check is valid for up to 30 days for a single transaction, which allows multiple guns to be bought.
- Keep firearms in a locked container that children can’t get into.
- Disassemble or lock firearms before storing them. Get a safety kit with cable-style locks from the local police or sheriff’s department.
What Would Prevent Me from Legally Buying a Gun in Nevada?
If you fall into any of these categories, you may not own a firearm:
- You were convicted of a crime with a penalty of more than one year in jail.
- You are a fugitive from justice.
- You are an addict or an unlawful user of controlled substances.
- You have been found mentally defective or committed to a mental institution.
- You are in the U.S. illegally.
- You have a dishonorable discharge from the military.
- You have renounced your U.S. citizenship.
- You are subject to a restraining order for domestic violence.
- You have been convicted of domestic violence.
- You are under indictment for any crime that carries a penalty of more than one year in jail.
Out-of-State Residents Buying Guns in Nevada
Nevada gun laws apply to both in-state and out-of-state residents. Only non-Nevada residents who hold valid concealed carry weapon (CCW) permits from reciprocal states may carry concealed firearms in Nevada.
Carrying concealed firearms without a CCW permit is a category C felony. The penalty includes 1 to 5 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
Do I Need a Permit to Own a Gun in Nevada?
Nevada law does not require gun owners to have a permit to purchase or carry rifles or shotguns, according to the National Rifle Association. Carrying a handgun, however, does require a permit.
Nevada Gun Laws Require Legal Expertise You Can Count On
If you’ve been arrested and charged with a weapons crime, don’t settle for a rookie lawyer. You need hard-nosed criminal defense attorneys who really care about you. For us, it’s not just a numbers game. It’s about people and results.
Contact Adras & Altig Attorneys At Law 24/7 and let’s start building your defense.