Everyone Makes Mistakes
At the law offices of Paul Adras and Steven Altig, we understand that bad things happen to good people. Especially in a city like Las Vegas. One extra drink during a night out can make all the difference.
If you have been charged with DUI, we understand. It is an embarrassing and stressful event. Just because you are accused of DUI, doesn’t mean you are a bad person and it doesn’t mean you deserve to go to jail.
Need Assistance in a Hurry?
Call Us Today & Start Making Things Better 702.385.7227
Arrested for DUI?
Everything changes in an instant. An officer stops your car and arrests you for driving drunk. What do you do now? Are you going to jail? Will you lose your driver’s license? Who can help you?
In Las Vegas and Nevada, you can be charged with a DUI for willfully and unlawfully driving or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle on a highway or on any premises that the public has access to while under the influence of intoxicating liquor and/or controlled substance and/or prohibited substance, and/or having a concentration alcohol level of 0.08 or more following a blood test or following a breath test (0.04 or more if you have a commercial driver’s license and you were driving a commercial vehicle), within two hours after driving or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle ( violation of Nevada Revised Statutes 484.379). If you are arrested and charged with DUI, you should immediately hire an experienced Las Vegas DUI lawyer immediately.
The DUI defense lawyers of ADRAS & ALTIG, Attorneys At Law are ready to help you. We will explain Nevada’s driving under the influence laws to you. We will fight for you in court and in the DMV license revocation hearing.
Even a First Offense is Serious
DUI in Las Vegas carries serious penalties, including fines, jail time, and the loss of your driver’s license. The State of Nevada doesn’t care if it’s only your first time, they will still seek the maximum sentence.
A first offense DUI conviction is considered to be a misdemeanor in Nevada. The following penalties apply: At least two days, but not more than six months in jail, or from at least 48 to 96 hours of community service; Fines ranging from $400.00 to $1,000.00, and additional fees and assessments that are required by Nevada law; Mandatory completion of DUI school, at your expense (for a Las Vegas DUI, this can be completed online); Mandatory attendance at a Victim Impact Panel program (for a Las Vegas DUI, you must attend this program in person at a live session). If you had a concentration of alcohol of 0.18 or more in your blood or breath, or if you were under the age of 21 when you committed the DUI offense, then the court (before sentencing), will require an alcohol and/or drug dependency evaluation, and you will be assessed a $100.00 fee for the evaluation.
In addition to the above, the court may order you to install a breath interlock device on any vehicle you either own or operate, from at least three to six months (at your expense) if you were found to have had a concentration of alcohol of less than 0.18 in your blood or breath. Further, the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will revoke or suspend your driver’s license for 90 days, and will impose a $35.00 penalty. Finally, if you had a concentration of alcohol of 0.18 or more in your blood or breath, you will be required to attend a program of treatment (and this type of treatment can be quite costly).
Do not try to handle it yourself just because it is your first time. You need someone on your side who understand the criminal justice system in Clark County.
Two Trials: The Court and the DMV
A DUI charge in Las Vegas immediately starts two legal procedures, one in court and one at the Department of Motor Vehicles. Even if you are found not guilty at trial, you may still lose your driver’s license through the administrative hearing at the DMV. We will fight for you on both fronts, before the Judge and at the DMV to protect your freedom and your driver’s license.
CHARGED WITH DUI?
PROTECT YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE!
If you are convicted of driving under the influence in Las Vegas you could lose your driver’s license for 90 days, a year, or more.
Don’t risk losing your privilege to drive.
We will fight for you at the DMV and help you keep your license.
Contact us right now at 702.385.7227 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org